Day One: Loose Curls {30 Days, 30 Ways}

Day One: Loose Curls
Skill To Learn: Diffusion
Difficulty: Easy Peasy
Time Commitment: 30 Minutes
What You Need: Curling Product, Blowdryer and Diffuser

 

For Day One of 30 Days, 30 Ways, I am going to introduce you to the foundational concepts of hair and then we will learn about diffusion.  The first thing to know is that everyone has a different length (short, mid-length, long), weight (fine, medium, coarse), density (thin, average and thick) and texture (straight, wavy, curly) that determine how they must prepare their hair for various styles.  And, for the most part, your unique hair type (long/medium/wavy or short/fine/curly) does not need to limit you as much as you probably let it!  Let me begin by showing you how my hair looks if left to its own devices:

 My hair is mid-length with a fine weight, but a medium-to-thick density.  It grows wavy in the back, but straight on the sides.  And I have bangs cut that can be worn in a face-framing fringe, side swept or pulled back.  And this is what is possible:
      

But let me not get ahead of myself!  We will cover those upstyles in the coming month, but for today, let’s discuss diffusion.   Diffusion is the process of drying your hair into a curling pattern using an attachment on your blower.  Now the straighter your hair is naturally, the more product you will need to apply.  Here are some of my favorites:

Bumble&Bumble Curl Conscious      Aveda Be Curly      Fekkai  Luscious Curl Cream
               Fekkai Luscious Curls® Cream

If your hair will scrunch into waves when wet, I would just apply a curl serum to your wet hair before diffusing.  If your hair tends to be fine, you may want a curl cream instead to give it volume.  If your hair is especially stubborn, I would use a curling shampoo/conditioner in addition to the styling products.  And if your hair tends to respond to humid weather, I would finish with a curling spray to add that final hold.

Once you have showered and towel-dried your hair, apply your product from the ends up to the scalp, distributing evenly.  Attach your diffuser to your blowdryer, and I believe that while some styles work better when the hair is partially air-dried, this is not one of them!  The moisture in your hair will weigh it down and pull against the curl pattern, so plan to start styling pretty soon after showering. 

Here are some other tricks that I have found for achieving natural curls:

Don’t Wait.  As I said, start when you’re hair is still pretty damp.

Get Low.  Use low speed on the blowdryer.  It will take more time, but it will prevent frizz.

Bend.   You will need to lean way to the left and way to the right to allow the diffuser to curl the hair from root to end for drying.  So bend way over and then flip your head completely to the front to access the crown and lean way back to get the nape.  (holding the doorjamb of your bathroom door for support helps!)

Dry completely.  If you leave any moisture in the hair, that weight will pull and reshape the hair in the twenty minutes after you finish.  Your hair will achieve most of its curl potential in those last five minutes, so don’t cut it short.

Reapply.  If you have some less-than-ideal spots when you’re done, reapply a curling spray and go at it again.  Typically with my hair, I apply a serum, blowdry, apply a holding cream, blowdry some more, spray with a curling spritz, blowdry a bit more.  Then it will stay curly all day. 

I know that diffusing your hair into curls can take some time, but some days you will have that extra time, and it is a fun way to change things up a bit!  Plus, curls by diffusion are better for your hair than perm curls anyday! 

Shoot me any questions in the comment column and I will try to help you out.  

 Have a great day and remember that someone needs a ray of light today that only you can shine.
Make time for inspiration, be yourself without apology and always light your world with goodness! 

About ~Sarah

Artist. Musician. Writer. Mother. Daughter. Friend. Christian. Existentialist. Pilgrim.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in beauty, hair tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Stephanie Sofka

    Sarah, I love this! You described my hair to a “t”…just like yours so I am so excited to see what you have in store for us!

  2. Ever since my haircut last week, my curls had seemed to vanish — until I took the time to diffuse. Using your tips, I was able to get my curls back!

Please join the conversation!

