Starry Nights {Salt Of The Earth Sunday}

I try to make time every night to stargaze for a minute or two.

The silence of night has a way of dislodging my deeper thoughts and the dark, starry expanse seems big enough to hold them.

I am reminded that I am small and that God is big, as though the stars are pin-pricks in the velvet curtain that separates our dark world from His boundless sunlight. 

I see Orion overhead and he whispers to me. 
And I am reminded that everything has order and reason, even when I can’t see it yet.

And though the morning will draw its gauzy veil and storms may lower a crumpled cloak, I know that the glistening stars beyond will still be watching me and patiently waiting for their turn to shine again.  And I am reminded that sometimes the best moments are worth waiting for.

And as I pull my coat tighter around me and turn to go inside, I thank God for always being there.  He was there three thousand years ago and He is right there tonight collecting the thoughts of overwhelmed mothers in Zimbabwe and Brazil and Denmark.  And whenever I pull away from my busy day enough to notice, I am reminded that He is here.

So wherever you find yourself tonight, pause to look up through our glassy globe into the great unknown that lies beyond. 

And be reminded that you are never alone.

About ~Sarah

Artist. Musician. Writer. Mother. Daughter. Friend. Christian. Existentialist. Pilgrim.

Posted on December 26, 2011, in salt of the earth sundays. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I thank my God for you. You are such a precious asset to our family.

Please join the conversation!

